Year 6 English

Select Your Block

Our Learn at Home pack for Year 6 English is now available. Explore all our Learn at Home packs.

The UKS2 National Curriculum content for Year 6 is arranged in a mix of fiction, non-fiction and poetry blocks focusing on different text types. Blocks are divided into units, each of which covers objectives across the Year 6 English curriculum, with an emphasis on introducing the core text, comprehension, composition or SPAG.

Autumn Blocks

Fiction 5 Units

Discuss emotive issues in Eric (Shaun Tan) & The Island (Armin Greder) & write an outsider story. Revise cohesive devices: pronouns, adverbials, determiners, conjunctions, paragraphing.

Stories that Raise Issues: Outsiders

Non-fiction 6 Units

Looking at website texts, revisit features of informal/formal writing including subjunctive mood, active/passive and question tags. Compose 'About Me' profiles and blog posts.

Blogs and Reports: Reading and Writing Blogs

Poetry 4 Units

Black Lives Matter incorporates poetry and art, tracing the history of BLM and some of the issues raised. Read the work of black poets, including Benjamin Zephaniah, taking their advice before planning and writing poems.

Poems on a Theme: Black Lives Matter

Fiction 6 Units

Read powerful WWI fiction: War Horse and War Game. Revise clauses and use formal and informal register, including subjunctive form. Write stories inspired by reading.

Historical Fiction: War Horse and War Game

Non-fiction 5 Units

Read and write instructions and explanations, exploring register, punctuating bullet points and adding parentheses. Write explanations based on the children's own interests.

Instructions and Explanations: Reading and writing instructions and explanations

Poetry 5 Units

Read, discuss and perform, The Highwayman poem by Alfred Noyes. Write a new ending. Revise adverbials, relative clauses and study the perfect form to mark time and cause.

Narrative Poetry: The Highwayman

Fiction 5 Units

Immerse the class in Northern Lights by Philip Pullman. Revise clauses and explore subjunctive form. Write an untold tale inspired by this significant author.

Significant Authors: Northern Lights

Non-fiction 5 Units

Using the inspirational Town is by the Sea and The Day of Ahmed’s Secret, study verbs (perfect form) and adverbials. Consider the issues raised and write impersonal and personal recounts.

Recounts: The Day of Ahmed's Secret

Poetry 5 Units

Have fun reading, writing and performing poetry (flash-mob anyone?). Explore poetry features and bust fairy tale stereotypes. Study expanded noun phrases and subjunctive form.

Performance Poetry: Choral and Performance Poems

Fiction 6 Units

Choose from Romeo & Juliet, The Tempest, Macbeth for an in-depth study. Relative clauses & prefixes/suffixes in context of Shakespeare’s new words. Write and perform playscripts. Also in Y5 Spring.

Classic Plays: Shakespeare