National Curriculum

Year 6 English Harry Potter-themed Revision Plans

This Y6 English revision unit is designed to provide a truly inspirational term's work. It is divided into nine themed blocks (A-I) that guarantee an exciting and stimulating literary experience, as well as covering all necessary revision, including the grammar, punctuation and spelling for the SPAG tests. Blocks A-E follow the sequence of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, allowing the class to read the book alongside the teaching. The final blocks (F-I) select some of the best bits from the rest of the series, whilst avoiding spoilers. 

Please note that this is Key Stage 2 planning differentiated for Year 6 specifically. If you prefer not to use these plans, you can use Hamilton’s Y5/6 Mixed Age planning which provides a 2-year rolling programme of UKS2 planning.

Supporting documents for set
  • Week
  • Title
  • Download
+ Details
Harry Potter Unit A: Story openers & letters

Focussing on chapters 1-4 of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, Block A looks at how JK Rowling draws in the reader with the opening chapters of the books. There are opportunities for revision of word classes and sentence punctuation. Children will look at letter writing and will create their own ‘Howlers’ to send!

+ Details
Harry Potter Unit B: Descriptive & predictive writing

Block B focuses in on Chapters 5-7 of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone. Children read and write descriptive and predictive texts and revise noun phrases, modal verbs and relative clauses. They discuss which Hogwarts house they might be suited to and have the opportunity to be sorted!

+ Details
Harry Potter Unit C: Instructions & rules

Block C focuses in on Chapters 8-10 of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone. Children read and write instructional texts and revise sentence forms and apostrophes for contraction and possession. They role-play a wizarding duel and write a guide to surviving Hogwarts.

+ Details
Harry Potter Unit D: Information & explanation texts

Block D focuses in on Chapters 11-14 of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone. Children read and write information texts, and revise adverbials and parentheses. They create and perform a Quidditch skirmish and write reports for a new information text for the Hogwarts’ library.

+ Details
Harry Potter Unit E: Narrative texts

Block E focuses in on the final chapters (15-17) of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone. Children read and write fiction thinking about the shape of narrative and how writers compel us to read their books. They revise cohesion within paragraphs and expressing time, place and cause (conjunctions, adverbs and prepositions). They retell an exciting scene from a different point of view and discuss the book as a whole. What they have enjoyed and are they tempted to read the next book?!

+ Details
Harry Potter Unit F: Recounts

Block F focuses on Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (mostly chapters 3 & 4) and extracts of Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix which centre around Delores Umbridge. Children read and plot events, creating a Ministry report about the inflation of Aunt Marge. They explore the vocabulary of informal and formal writing and rewrite dialogue, changing the register. They revise cohesion between paragraphs (adverbials) and verb forms (simple, progressive, perfect). Children then write a recount in role, reporting a stand-out moment in Hogwarts’ history and the Harry Potter series.

+ Details
Harry Potter Unit G: Persuasive texts

Block G focuses mainly on extracts from Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. Children explore persuasive writing, developing and performing an advertisement for Weasleys’ Wizard Wheezes; writing excuses for Fred and George; and then reading and discussing the events leading up to Buckbeak’s trial. They revise: active and passive voice; adverbs of possibility and subordinate clauses. Children then write persuasive letters to help save Buckbeak – can they do it?

+ Details
Harry Potter Unit H: Newspapers and dialogue

Block H focuses on extracts from Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire. Children explore newspaper writing, roleplay interviews with the infamous journalist, Rita Skeeter, and consider accuracy in news reporting. They revise: dialogue and reported speech; colons, semi colons and commas; and punctuating lists with bullet points. Children then watch and write a report on a Triwizard Trial – Will they write a balanced or biased account?

+ Details
Harry Potter Unit I:Testing and celebration

Block I gives children an experience of formal testing, providing mock Grammar, Punctuation and Spelling tests and a Reading test in the style of KS2 papers. There are also suggested warm-up and unwinding activities, all following the Harry Potter theme, to ensure that children are supported in treating tests with a sense of perspective.  The unit concludes with a celebration of the effort children have put into their learning. There are many suggestions within the plan and Pinterest board, so you can make this as low-key or ambitious as you like.